# Annual Food & Farm Policy Champion Awards



### **Description**

Since 2016 Roots of Change (ROC) has been co-hosting an annual **Food Champion Award event** in Sacramento to **honor legislators** who are creating a more climate-smart, just, healthy and resilient food and farming system.

This event is also where the annual **Food & Farm Scorecard** is released to the public. Originally created by ROC and the California Food Policy Council (CAFPC), the annual scorecard is now produced by the California Food & Farming Network (CFFN) which works with 50 allied organizations to both nominate legislators and tally votes to determine the champions.

Past Food & Farm Policy Champion Awards recipients:

- Asm. Mia Bonta (2024)
- Asm. Damon Connolly (2024)
- Asm. Lori Wilson (2023)
- Sen. Caroline Menjivar (2023)
- Asm. Buffy Wicks (2022)
- Asm. Steve Bennett (2022)
- Speaker Robert Rivas (2021)
- Sen. Nancy Skinner (2021)
- Asm. Richard Bloom (2021)
- Sen. Monique Limón (2019)
- Asm. Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (2019)

- Sen. William Monning (2018)
- Sen. Ricardo Lara (2018)
- CDFA Secretary Karen Ross (Special Mention, 2018)
- Senate President Pro Tem Mike McGuire (2017)
- *Asm. David Chiu* (2017)
- Sen. Susan Talamantes Eggman (2016)
- Asm. Phil Ting (2016)
- Sen. Lois Wolk (2016
- Sen. Mark Leno (2016)

## **Objectives**

- 1) To draw attention to food & farm policies that support a climate-smart, healthy, and equitable food system
- 2) To honor legislators who show leadership and success in getting food & farm related bills passed.

#### **Partners**

- Mulvaney's B&L
- California Food and Farming Network (CFFN) - since 2018
- California Food Policy Council (CAFPC) - 2016 to 2017

#### **Contact**

mail@rootsofchange.org

## Become a 2025 Food & Farm Policy Champion!







